THE BOAST OF HERALDRY - THE POMP OF POWER (4)
|Examples of Heraldry relating to Thurrock|
Belhus, in Aveley village, was the home of the Barrett-Lennard family until 1922 when the estate was sold. The house was vandalised by the army during the Second World War and had to be demolished in 1957. Drawings of the stained and painted glass in the house, showing the family alliances, were made by F. S. Eden in 1925. They are in the print room of the Victoria and Albert Museum. A set of earlier sketches, probably done when the glass was in situ, is now in Thurrock Museum. Most of the Belhus glass is in the USA but it has been catalogued by their organisation Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi. Here is a picture of the Barrett coat of arms with its crest of a many-headed hydra. A depiction of this on the ceiling of the Belhus crest room is now in Thurrock Museum.
Return to top